Corporate Finance Primer

Similar documents
Disclaimer: This resource package is for studying purposes only EDUCATION

Corporate Finance Solutions to In Session Detail Review Material

Part A: Corporate Finance

Topic 1 (Week 1): Capital Budgeting

CHAPTER 6 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS

Stock Market Basics. Capital Market A market for intermediate or long-term debt or corporate stocks.

Time Value of Money. PV of Multiple Cash Flows. Present Value & Discounting. Future Value & Compounding. PV of Multiple Cash Flows

Chapter 4-6 Time Value of Money Net Present Value Capital Budgeting. Konan Chan Financial Management, Time Value of Money

Copyright 2009 Pearson Education Canada

ACC501 Current 11 Solved Finalterm Papers and Important MCQS

MULTIPLE-CHOICE QUESTIONS Circle the correct answer on this test paper and record it on the computer answer sheet.

1) Side effects such as erosion should be considered in a capital budgeting decision.

Disclaimer: This resource package is for studying purposes only EDUCATION

CHAPTER 13 RISK, COST OF CAPITAL, AND CAPITAL BUDGETING

SOLUTION FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT MAY 2011

Lecture 3. Chapter 4: Allocating Resources Over Time

4. D Spread to treasuries. Spread to treasuries is a measure of a corporate bond s default risk.

Chapter 4. Discounted Cash Flow Valuation


CHAPTER 8 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS

Financial Management I

CHAPTER 6 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS

CHAPTER 4 DISCOUNTED CASH FLOW VALUATION

All In One MGT201 Mid Term Papers More Than (10) BY

Note: it is your responsibility to verify that this examination has 16 pages.

CHAPTER 4 DISCOUNTED CASH FLOW VALUATION

The Time Value. The importance of money flows from it being a link between the present and the future. John Maynard Keynes

12. Cost of Capital. Outline

80 Solved MCQs of MGT201 Financial Management By

3. C 12 years. The rule 72 tell us the number of years needed to double an investment is 72 divided by the interest rate.

Describe the importance of capital investments and the capital budgeting process

Ron Muller MODULE 6: SPECIAL FINANCING AND INVESTMENT DECISIONS QUESTION 1

FIN622 Solved MCQs BY

ACC-501 Final Term Subjective

CHAPTER 4 DISCOUNTED CASH FLOW VALUATION

*Efficient markets assumed

Chapter 6. Learning Objectives. Principals Applies in this Chapter. Time Value of Money

DISCOUNTED CASH-FLOW ANALYSIS

Lecture Wise Questions of ACC501 By Virtualians.pk

CHAPTER 15 INVESTMENT, TIME, AND CAPITAL MARKETS

FIN622 Fall Quizzes & MCQs Market Risk Soft Rationing Sensitivity analysis Sensitivity analysis Higher Cash outflow to acquire fixed assets

Session 1, Monday, April 8 th (9:45-10:45)

Chapter 6 Capital Budgeting

MGT201 Current Online Solved 100 Quizzes By

Finance 303 Financial Management Review Notes for Final. Chapters 11&12

1. give a picture of a company's ability to generate cash flow and pay it financial obligations: 2. Balance sheet items expressed as percentage of:

The Cost of Capital. Principles Applied in This Chapter. The Cost of Capital: An Overview

The Cost of Capital. Chapter 14

AFP Financial Planning & Analysis Learning System Session 1, Monday, April 3 rd (9:45-10:45) Time Value of Money and Capital Budgeting

Understanding Financial Management: A Practical Guide Problems and Answers

MGT201 Financial Management Solved MCQs A Lot of Solved MCQS in on file

University 18 Lessons Financial Management. Unit 2: Capital Budgeting Decisions

MGT201 Financial Management Solved MCQs


Corporate Finance - Final Exam QUESTIONS 78 terms by trunganhhung

FinQuiz Notes

FINM 3401: Corporate Finance Course Notes

AFM 271 Practice Problem Set #2 Spring 2005 Suggested Solutions

Question # 4 of 15 ( Start time: 07:07:31 PM )

Who of the following make a broader use of accounting information?

AFM 271. Midterm Examination #2. Friday June 17, K. Vetzal. Answer Key

Guide to Financial Management Course Number: 6431

6.1 Simple Interest page 243

Chapter 14 The Cost of Capital

THE HONG KONG INSTITUTE OF CHARTERED SECRETARIES THE INSTITUTE OF CHARTERED SECRETARIES AND ADMINISTRATORS

MGT201 Lecture No. 11

ACC 501 Quizzes Lecture 1 to 22

Corporate Finance. Dr Cesario MATEUS Session

ACCTG101 Revision MODULES 10 & 11 LITTLE NOTABLES EXCLUSIVE - VICKY TANG

CIMA F3 Workbook Questions

CIS March 2012 Exam Diet

ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Chapter 14 Solutions Solution 14.1

CHAPTER 4 SIMPLE AND COMPOUND INTEREST INCLUDING ANNUITY APPLICATIONS. Copyright -The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India

FIN622 Formulas

Given the following information, what is the WACC for the following firm?

F3 CIMA Q & A! CIMA F3 Workbook Questions & Solutions

3: Balance Equations

CMA Part 2. Financial Decision Making

CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA

MIDTERM EXAMINATION Spring 2009 ACC501- Business Finance (Session - 1)

4. Interest earned on both the initial principal and the interest reinvested from prior periods is called: A. free interest. B. dual interest. C. simp

Accountant s Guide to Financial Management - Final Exam 100 Questions 1. Objectives of managerial finance do not include:

5. Risk in capital budgeting implies that the decision maker knows of the cash flows. A. Probability B. Variability C. Certainity D.

Chapter 9. Capital Budgeting Decision Models

FINANCE REVIEW. Page 1 of 5

MIDTERM EXAMINATION. Spring MGT201- Financial Management (Session - 3) Rate that will be paid on the next dollar of taxable income

600 Solved MCQs of MGT201 BY

Key Concepts and Skills

2, , , , ,220.21

Investment Decision Criteria. Principles Applied in This Chapter. Disney s Capital Budgeting Decision

MULTIPLE-CHOICE QUESTIONS Circle the correct answers on this test paper and record them on the computer answer sheet.

Math 147 Section 6.4. Application Example

Capital Budgeting CFA Exam Level-I Corporate Finance Module Dr. Bulent Aybar

Disclaimer: This resource package is for studying purposes only EDUCATIO N

Solved MCQs MGT201. (Group is not responsible for any solved content)

Chapter What are the important administrative considerations in the capital budgeting process?

Capital Budgeting Decisions

Papared by Cyberian Contribution by Sweet honey and Vempire Eyes


Transcription:

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada, CPA Canada, CPA are trademarks and/or certification marks of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. 2018, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Table of Contents INTRODUCTION... 4 PART 1... 4 Time value of money... 4 Annuities... 5 Present value of an ordinary annuity... 5 Future value of an ordinary annuity... 6 Interest rates... 7 Financial markets... 7 Market efficiency and the efficient-market hypothesis... 7 Major financial securities... 8 Derivative financial instruments... 8 Practice questions... 8 PART 2... 12 Capital structure... 12 WACC... 12 Annuities Valuing bonds and other debt... 13 Perpetuities and valuing preferred shares... 13 Common shares... 13 WACC Summary... 14 Choosing a capital structure... 14 Operating and financial leverage... 15 Practice questions... 15 PART 3... 21 Working capital... 21 Management of working capital components... 21 Cash conversion cycle... 23 Financial planning and forecasting... 23 Practice questions... 24

PART 4... 27 The capital budgeting process... 27 Capital rationing... 27 Estimating a project s cash flows... 28 Capital cost allowance... 30 Practice questions... 30 PART 5... 35 Capital budgeting... 35 NPV... 35 Payback period... 36 Internal rate of return... 37 Lease financing... 37 Dividends... 39 Practice questions... 39 PART 6... 44 Financial analysis... 44 Valuation... 45 Example... 48 Corporate finance transactions... 49 Expansion... 49 Divestiture... 49 Financial distress... 49 Practice questions... 50

INTRODUCTION The Corporate Finance course requires extensive use of a financial calculator. You should become familiar with the operation of your financial calculator if you are not already. A refresher on using the Texas Instruments BA II financial calculator is available on the website. Finance deals with raising funds and allocating those funds to investments with the purpose of increasing wealth. The financial executive has three key finance functions that serve to protect the interests of the shareholders: investment, financing, and financial management of daily operating activities. More specifically, the role of corporate finance within a business organization is to answer the following three broad questions: 1. What investments, specifically long-term investments, should the firm make? 2. How should the firm raise the cash to make these long-term investments? 3. How should the firm manage its short-term or operating cash flows? PART 1 Time value of money Time value of money is the concept that a dollar invested today will be worth more in the future. A dollar received today can be expressed as an equivalent dollar 1 value at a time in the future through the process of compounding it at an appropriate rate of return. Similarly, a dollar paid or received in the future can be expressed as an equivalent dollar value at the present time by discounting it at an appropriate rate of return. The following terms are presented in the formulas below: PV i n FV A = present value = rate of interest, or current rate of return = term or length of the investment = future value = periodic amount of the annuity 1 Dollars are assumed here as the currency. However, the same principles apply regardless of currency. 4 / 52

Using the financial calculator, the terms are: PV = present value I/Y = rate of interest or current yield (rate of return) N = term or length of the investment FV = future value PMT = periodic amount of the annuity or payment There are two concepts that are key to the time value of money: future value, the value of an asset or cash at a specific future date, and present value, the equivalent dollar value today of one or a series of cash flows in later periods. The formula to calculate future value is: FV = PV (1 + i) n The formula to calculate present value is: PV = FV / (1 + i) n For example, suppose you have $1,000 now and want to know how much will be available in five years time for a vacation. If you put the money into a five-year guaranteed investment certificate (GIC) that pays 5% interest compounded annually, the future value is $1,276.28 for your vacation. FV = $1,000 (1 + 0.05) 5 = $1,276.28 Assume instead that you know you need $1,000 in five years time for a vacation. You want to determine how much you have to save today to have $1,000 for your trip. If you put the money into a five-year GIC that pays 5% interest compounded annually, you would need to put aside $783.53 today. PV = $1,000 / (1 + 0.05) 5 = $783.53 Present value is the value of future cash flows, discounted using a return determined by the risk of the future cash flows, in order to obtain their equivalent value at the present time. Annuities An annuity is a series of cash flows that are the same in amount and occur at regular intervals. An ordinary annuity has the payments occurring at the end of each period, whereas an annuity due has the payments at the beginning of the period. Present value of an ordinary annuity The present value of an ordinary annuity can be calculated as: PV = A{[1 (1 + i) n ] / i} For example, suppose you want to be able to withdraw $20,000 per year for the next five years from your savings account starting exactly one year from today. Current interest rates are 6% on a savings account. How much do you need to deposit today to be able to take out the $20,000 per year for the next five years? 5 / 52

Using the financial calculator: N = 5 I/Y = 6% PMT = $20,000 CPT PV = $84,247.27 Using the formula: PV = $20,000 {[1 (1 + 0.06) 5 ] / 0.06} = $84,247.27 To verify: Date Debit Credit Balance Beginning year 1 $84,247.27 $84,247.27 Interest year 1 5,054.84 89,302.11 Year 1 withdrawal $20,000 69,302.11 Interest year 2 4,158.13 73,460.24 Year 2 withdrawal 20,000 53,460.24 Interest year 3 3,207.61 56,667.85 Year 3 withdrawal 20,000 36,667.85 Interest year 4 2,200.07 38,867.92 Year 4 withdrawal 20,000 18,867.92 Interest year 5 1,132.08 20,000.00 Year 5 withdrawal 20,000 0.00 Future value of an ordinary annuity The future value of an ordinary annuity can be calculated as: FV = A{[(1 + i) n 1] / i} For example, if you invest $10,000 per year for three years, compounded at 12% annually, what will the value be at the end of the three years? Using the financial calculator: N = 3; I/Y = 12%; PMT = $10,000; CPT FV = $33,744 Using the formula: FV = $10,000 {[(1 + 0.12) 3 1] / 0.12} = $33,744 6 / 52

Interest rates The interest rate is the price or cost associated with the borrowing and lending of funds, and is determined by the forces of supply and demand. The four major factors for determining interest rates are as follows: current investment opportunities expected inflation term structure, including future investment opportunities risk Financial markets There are two types of markets: the primary and the secondary markets. The primary market is where firms sell new issues of stock initial public offerings (IPOs), seasoned equity offerings and new bond issues. Secondary markets can be broken down into exchange markets and dealer or over-the-counter markets. Market efficiency and the efficient-market hypothesis There are three general types of market efficiency: Operational efficiency: Operations of the stock market are carried out at as low a cost as possible. Allocational efficiency: Markets channel funds to those firms with the best investment opportunities. Informational (pricing) efficiency: Stock prices reflect all relevant information about the stocks. There are three forms of informational (pricing) efficiency under the efficient-market hypothesis: 1. Weak form, in which prices reflect all historical market data 2. Semi-strong form, in which prices reflect all publicly known and available information 3. Strong form, in which prices reflect all information whether public or private 7 / 52

Major financial securities There are two broad categories of financial securities: debt and equity. The basic forms of financial securities are outlined below. Type of security Description Examples Short-term securities A fixed-income security, often unsecured, that matures in one T-bills, commercial paper, bankers acceptances year or less Long-term securities An obligation that matures in Bonds and debentures more than one year Equity securities Ownership positions in a Common shares, preferred shares corporation Mutual funds Portfolios of investments Mutual funds, exchange tradedfunds (ETFs) Derivative financial instruments The following are some of the most common types of derivatives found: Options: The right (but not the obligation) to buy or sell an underlying asset at a fixed price for a specified period of time (two types: calls and puts) Forward contracts: Customized bank instruments that specify a price today for the delivery of a specified asset in the future Futures contracts: Traded on exchanges and involve a seller who agrees to deliver a commodity to a buyer at some point in the future at a specified price Swaps: Agreements between two parties to exchange cash flows in the future Practice questions 1. Multiple-choice questions: i. You have just become a parent and have decided to start saving for your child s education. Starting at the end of this year, you will deposit $2,000 every year for the next 20 years in an account that pays 6% interest per year. What amount will be in the account at the end of the 20 years? a) $22,939.84 b) $40,000.00 c) $73,571.18 d) $128,285.42 8 / 52

Solution Option c) is correct. N = 20; I/Y = 6%; PMT = $2,000; CPT FV = $73,571.18 Option a) is incorrect. This is the present value of the annuity, not the future value. Option b) is incorrect. This is calculated as 20 $2,000; the effects of compounding interest were not accounted for. Option d) is incorrect. This is straight compounding of $2,000 at 6% for 20 years, multiplied by 20: ($2,000 1.06 20 ) 20. ii. Neil wants to buy a house in five years and needs to save $150,000 for the down payment. He has $20,000 saved in a GIC earning 8% per year for the next five years. How much does he need to deposit to meet his goal of $150,000 in five years, if he can invest any new deposits at 12% per year? a) $18,985.73 b) $23,611.46 c) $33,459.34 d) $41,611.46 Solution Option a) is correct. First, you need to calculate the future value of the GIC at the end of the five years: $20,000 1.08 5 = $29,386.56. Neil needs a total of $150,000 and will have $29,386.56, so he needs an additional $120,613.44 ($150,000 $29,386.56). Using the future value of an annuity equation, solve for A: A[(1.12 5 1) / 0.12] = $120,613.44, or A = $18,985.73. Or, using the financial calculator: N = 5; I/Y = 12%; FV = $120,613.44; CPT PMT = $18,985.73. Option b) is incorrect. This is the annuity if the future value is $150,000. You forgot to subtract the value of the GIC that is maturing. Option c) is incorrect. You calculated the annuity with a present value of $120,613.44 ($150,000 $29,386.56), not the future value. N = 5; I/Y = 12; PV = $120,613.44; CPT PMT = $33,459.34 Option d) is incorrect. This is the annuity with a present value of $150,000. 9 / 52

iii. Which of the following statements about the efficient-market hypothesis is true? a) Allocational efficiency ensures that information is allocated to the right people. b) The semi-strong form of market efficiency means the market prices reflect all publicly known and available information. c) The weak form of market efficiency means that the stock market could operate at a lower cost if it were more efficient. d) The strong form of market efficiency means that market prices reflect all historical data. Solution Option b) is correct. This is the definition of the semi-strong form of market efficiency. Option a) is incorrect. Allocationally efficient markets channel funds to those firms with the best investment opportunities. Option c) is incorrect. The weak form of market efficiency means prices on the market reflect all historical data. Option d) is incorrect. This is the definition of the weak form of market efficiency. In the strong form of market efficiency, prices reflect all information whether public or private. 2. Your friend has just won $5,000,000 in the lottery. She can receive $5,000,000 immediately or $550,000 per year for the next 10 years. The current interest rate is 9%. Which of these options will give her the most cash today? Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation The goal is to maximize cash in today s dollars. In order to do so, the PV of each option will be calculated and compared with one another, the highest option being the recommendation. CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues In order to determine which option is better, you need to bring all fund flows to today s date so they can be compared. This requires calculating the present value of the annuity of $550,000 for 10 years at 9%: PMT = 550,000; I/Y = 9%; N = 10; CPT PV = $3,529,712 CPA Way step: Conclude and Advise The stream of payments is worth $3,529,712 in today s dollars, compared to a $5,000,000 payment now. Your friend maximizes her prize when taking the $5,000,000 lump sum. 10 / 52

3. Sharon purchased a new car for $25,600, making a $5,000 down payment. Sharon has borrowed the balance from OAC Lending at an annual rate of 21%. The balance of the loan is to be repaid in 60 equal monthly instalments, on the first of every month. The first monthly payment is due one month from today. How much is Sharon s monthly payment? Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation Car payments are typically equal amounts paid monthly. To determine Sharon s monthly payments, solve for the PMT amount. CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues Determine the annuity required using the present value of an annuity calculation and solving for A: A{[1 (1 + 0.21 / 12) 60 ] / (0.21 / 12)} = ($25,600 $5,000); A = $557.30 END; PV = $25,600 $5,000 = $20,600; N = 60; I/Y = 21/12 = 1.75; CPT PMT = $557.30 CPA Way step: Conclude and Advise Sharon s equal monthly payments are $557.30. 11 / 52

PART 2 Capital structure This part looks at a firm s capital structure, which is the mix of long-term financing that it uses. The cost to a firm of financing its investments in long-term assets (long-term financing) is known as the weighted average cost of capital (WACC). A firm s WACC will change as its mix of debt and equity changes. The following information about Firefly Enterprises Ltd. will be used to show how to calculate a firm s WACC: Firefly has a bond issue outstanding for $2,000,000. The bonds pay interest at 6% semiannually and mature in six years. The current market rate for similar bonds is 5%. Firefly has 50,000 preferred shares outstanding with a book value of $500,000 and a dividend per share of $1.00. The current market value of these shares is $12.50. Firefly has 1,000,000 common shares issued and outstanding. The beta on these shares is 1.1. Last year, these shares paid a dividend of $2.40 per share. The dividend is expected to grow at a rate of 1% annually for the foreseeable future. The current market price for the shares is $20. Firefly s tax rate is 25%. WACC WACC is a weighted average of the required returns for the sources of financing used in a corporation, adjusted, where appropriate, for income taxes. The main sources of financing are issues of debt (long-term loans or bonds), preferred shares and common shares. Note that from an income tax perspective, deduction of interest expenses is allowed, but in the case of preferred or common shares, dividends cannot be deducted. This is because dividends are paid out in after-tax cash. Thus, for the WACC, the interest rate on any debt is multiplied by (1 TC), or 1 minus the corporate tax rate. This reduces the cost of debt; it is done because interest is tax deductible. The formula for the WACC is: where WACC = kd Wdebt + kp Wpreferred + ke Wcommon kd, kp and ke are the cost of debt, preferred shares and common shares, respectively Wdebt, Wpreferred and Wcommon are the weight, or proportion, of each source of financing 12 / 52

Annuities Valuing bonds and other debt The present value of an annuity can be used to find how much a series of constant cash flows (such as the coupon requirements on a bond) is worth. Using Firefly s information: The cost of debt (kd) for the WACC calculation is: kd = Y(1 Tc) = 0.05(1 0.25) = 0.0375 or 3.75% The market value of the bonds is: I/Y = 2.5; N = 12; PMT = $60,000; FV = $2,000,000; CPT PV = $2,102,578 Perpetuities and valuing preferred shares A perpetuity is a series of cash flows that recur regularly at the same amount each period and continue forever. It is assumed that the first cash flow occurs one period later than the time at which the cash flows are valued. Note that the formula shown below can be manipulated to calculate either the value of the preferred shares or the required return (cost of preferred shares). where PV0 = Dp kp PV0 is the present value at the current time Dp is the cash inflow for each period (that is, the stated dividend per preferred share), since it does not change kp is the required return for the perpetual cash flows, based on risk kp = $1.00 / $12.50 = 0.08, or 8% The current market value of Firefly s preferred shares is 50,000 $12.50 = $625,000. Common shares In an efficient market, the present value of the cash flows equals the security price. This type of calculation of value is used for common shares, where it is assumed (in the absence of other knowledge about the firm) that the dividends will continue to grow at a constant rate (g) forever. Often, for common shares, the symbol D1 is used for the first of the growing dividends. The dividend growth model formula for valuing common shares is: PV0 = D1 (ke g) Similar to above, this formula can be manipulated to calculate either the value of the common shares (as above) or the required return (cost of common shares), as follows: ke = D1 PV0 + g 13 / 52

Another method of determining the cost of common shares is the capital asset pricing model (CAPM). The CAPM is used to estimate the return required on an individual asset or stock based on its systematic risk (beta) and the market risk premium (market price of risk) that is, the difference between the return required on the market portfolio and the return on the riskfree asset. The formula is as follows: where E(Ri) or ke = Rf + βi [E(Rm) Rf] E(Ri) is the required one-period return for asset i ke is the cost of common shares Rf is the risk-free rate (T-bill rate) for the next period βi is the beta of asset i [E(Rm) Rf] is known as the market risk premium (market price of risk), because it shows the extra return required for the risky market portfolio above the risk-free return For Firefly, you do not have enough information to calculate the cost of common shares using the CAPM, but you can use the dividend growth model. D1 = $2.40 1.01 = $2.424 P0 = $20 (current market price) g = 1% ke = $2.424 / $20 + 0.01 = 0.1312, or 13.12% The market value of Firefly s common shares is 1,000,000 $20 = $20,000,000. WACC Summary Putting together all the above data for Firefly, the WACC calculation becomes: Source of financing Market value Weighting* Cost WACC Debt (bonds) $ 2,102,578 0.0925 0.0375 0.0035 Preferred shares 625,000 0.0275 0.0800 0.0022 Common shares 20,000,000 0.8800 0.1312 0.1155 Total $22,727,578 1.0000 0.1212 * The weighting for debt is calculated as 2,102,578/22,727,578, for preferred shares, 625,000/22,727,578, and for common shares, 20,000,000/22,727,578. Choosing a capital structure A firm s WACC changes every time its mix of debt and equity changes. The best capital structure for a firm is the one that results in the lowest WACC. Firms will consider this when looking for additional financing, to see if the proposed issue will reduce or increase the WACC. 14 / 52

Debt tends to have a lower cost, but as the percentage of debt increases, the risk profile of the firm increases. When the financial leverage rises too high, the cost of equity for the firm also rises. Operating and financial leverage Operating leverage is the degree to which operating costs are fixed. Fixed costs must be paid regardless of monthly income. With high fixed costs, the firm runs the risk of operating at a loss. Therefore, the higher the operating leverage, the wider the swings in net income. Consider a firm that has fixed costs of $2,000 per month. If it earns a contribution margin (sales less variable costs) of $20,000, then there is no problem covering the fixed costs. However, if sales decline to a contribution margin of less than $2,000 per month, the firm could quickly find itself in financial difficulties because it would not be generating enough income to cover its fixed costs. Financial leverage is the degree to which financing costs are fixed. Firms with high financial leverage have a higher risk of default because they must pay their financing costs regardless of their income level. If a firm does not have enough money to pay its fixed financing costs, it may eventually have to declare bankruptcy. Consider a firm that has a $50 financing component due each month plus $500 in other fixed costs. If the firm earns a contribution margin of $1,000, then there is no problem covering the fixed costs after financing costs are paid. However, if sales decline, the firm could find itself in financial difficulties if it is not generating enough income to cover its fixed costs after paying its financing costs. Practice questions 1. Multiple-choice questions: i. Your employer has given you the following information: Book value of debt $1,500,000 Market value of debt $1,350,000 Book value of common shares $1,150,000 Market value of common shares $2,200,000 Cost of debt before taxes 8% Cost of equity 16% Corporate tax rate 25% What is the WACC? a) 10.3% b) 11.5% c) 12.2% d) 13.0% 15 / 52

Solution Option c) is correct. It is calculated as: Component Cost Market value Weighting Weighted cost Debt (1 0.25)(0.08) = 0.06 $1,350,000 0.3803 0.0228 Equity 0.16 2,200,000 0.6197 0.0992 Total $3,550,000 1.0000 0.1220 Option a) is incorrect. You used the book value rather than the market value for both debt and common shares. Option b) is incorrect. You used the book value rather than the market value for both debt and common shares, and you did not adjust the before-tax cost of debt to the aftertax rate. Option d) is incorrect. You forgot to adjust the before-tax cost of debt to the after-tax rate. ii. The investors of Q Company have agreed that, one year from now, common share dividends will be $2.00. An analysis of Q Company shows that the required rate of return for the company is 10%. If dividends are expected to grow 3% per year, what is the current price of Q Company s shares? a) $15.38 b) $20.00 c) $28.57 d) $29.43 Solution Option c) is correct. PV0 = $2.00 / (0.10 0.03) = $28.57 Option a) is incorrect. You added the growth rate in the denominator of the formula rather than subtracting it. Option b) is incorrect. This would be the price if there were no growth. Option d) is incorrect. You added one year of growth to the dividend, but the dividend is already one year out. 16 / 52

2. Serenity Sofas Inc. has 5,000,000 preferred shares outstanding. The current market price is $16.50 per share. Serenity offers a dividend of $1.25 per share. Serenity s tax rate is 28%. Required: Calculate the rate of return of the preferred shares. Solution k p = D p P p = $1.25 $16.50 = 0.0758 Serenity s rate of return on the preferred shares is 7.58%. 3. Galatica Gems Ltd. has 30,000,000 common shares outstanding that are currently trading at a price of $12 per share. These shares have a beta of 1.7, the market price of risk is 6%, and the risk-free rate is 2.5%. Galatica also has 1,000,000 preferred shares outstanding that have a book value of $10,000,000 and consistently pay a stated dividend of $2.00 per share. They currently trade at $15 per share. In addition, Galatica has an outstanding bond issue for $145,000,000 that carries a coupon rate of 6% paid semi-annually and has a term to maturity of six years. The current yield on bonds of similar risk is 4%. Galatica s current tax rate is 30%. Required: Calculate Galatica s WACC, assuming the firm will issue new common shares. Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation In order to calculate Galatica s WACC, first calculate the cost of capital of each source of financing and then weight the sources proportionally to their respective amounts. 17 / 52

CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues Debt: kd = Y(1 Tc) = 0.04(1 0.30) = 0.0280, or 2.8% MV of bond Present value of the bond: N = 6 2 = 12; I = 4 2 = 2; PMT = $145,000,000 3% = $4,350,000; FV = $145,000,000; CPT PV = $160,334,245 Preferred shares: kp = Dp PV0; $2.00 $15.00 = 0.1333 or 13.3% MV = 1,000,000 $15 = $15,000,000 Common shares: ke = Rf + βi(rm Rf); 0.025 + 1.7(0.06) = 0.127 or 12.7% MV = 30,000,000 $12.00 = $360,000,000 Source of financing Market value Weighting Cost Debt $160,334,245 0.2995 0.0280 Preferred shares 15,000,000 0.0280 0.1333 Common shares 360,000,000 0.6725 0.1270 Total $535,334,245 1.0000 WACC = 0.2995 0.0280 + 0.0280 0.1333 + 0.6725 0.1270 = 0.0975 CPA Way step: Conclude and Advise Galatica s WACC is 9.75%. 18 / 52

4. Gotham Inc. has an outstanding bond issue for $50,000,000. The bond coupon rate is 8%, with interest paid semi-annually. The bonds mature in seven years. The current market yield on similar bonds is 9%. Gotham has 2,000,000 preferred shares outstanding that have a book value of $4,000,000. These shares consistently pay an annual dividend of $0.50. They currently trade at $2.50 per share. Gotham also has 5,000,000 common shares issued and outstanding that currently trade for $5.00 per share. These shares paid a dividend of $1.50 this year. This is expected to grow at a rate of 2% annually. Gotham s tax rate is 30%. Required: Calculate Gotham s WACC. Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation In order to calculate Galatica s WACC, first calculate the cost of capital of each source of financing and then weight the sources proportionally to their respective amounts. CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues Market value of the bond: PMT = $2,000,000; I = 4.5%; N = 14; FV = $50,000,000; CPT PV = $47,444,294 Cost of debt: Y(1 Tc) = (0.09)(1 0.30) = 0.063, or 6.3% Current market value of the preferred shares: 2,000,000 shares $2.50 per share = $5,000,000 Cost of preferred shares: Using the formula: PV0 = Dp kp Or kp = Dp PV0; $0.50 $2.50 = 0.20 or 20% Current market value of the common shares: 5,000,000 shares $5.00 = $25,000,000 19 / 52

Cost of common shares: Using the formula: k e D PV 1 D1 = D0 (1 + g); D1 = (1.50)(1.02) = $1.53 ke = $1.53 / $5.00 + 0.02 = 0.326 or 32.6% 0 g Source of financing Market value Weighting Cost Weighted cost Bonds $47,444,294 0.6126 0.063 0.0386 Preferred shares 5,000,000 0.0646 0.200 0.0129 Common shares 25,000,000 0.3228 0.326 0.1052 Totals $77,444,294 1.0000 0.1567 CPA Way step: Conclude and Advise Gotham s WACC is 15.67%. 20 / 52

PART 3 Working capital Working capital is defined as the short-term current assets of a firm, made up of cash, marketable securities, accounts receivable and inventory. Net working capital (NWC) is the difference between current assets and current liabilities. Current assets are cash and other assets that will be converted to cash in a year. The other assets include marketable securities, accounts receivable and inventory. Current liabilities are liabilities due within one year; they include short-term loans, accounts payable, accruals (such as a payroll liability), taxes payable and the current portion of long-term debt. Management of working capital components The operational goal of NWC management is to minimize the firm s investment in NWC. There needs to be enough NWC to meet the firm s operational needs as follows: sufficient cash for trading with customers and suppliers, and providing for other cash needs such as wages accounts receivable with trade terms that are competitive in the industry to attract and secure sales that otherwise would not be made enough inventory to prevent running out of stock and thereby missing sales Cash and short-term investment management generally consists of determining the cash needs for the next period. Cash is required for two basic reasons: For transactions: Businesses need a minimum amount of cash to cover normal short-term operations. As a cash buffer: Unexpected cash outflows are not possible to predict with complete accuracy. Accounts receivable management generally consists of recording receivables when credit sales are made, ensuring that payments are properly credited and following up on overdue accounts. A major influence on the size of accounts receivable is the firm s credit terms. An example of standard credit policy terms is 2/10 net 30, which means that customers can take a 2% discount if they pay within 10 days; otherwise, they must pay in full within 30 days. When changing an entity s credit policy, financial executives must consider the impact of the contemplated change on sales, accounts receivable balances and bad debt expense, as well as the effect the change in discount might have on the net cash received. In addition, the change in discount might have an effect on the timing of cash receipts and, consequently, the payment period. A longer payment period increases opportunity cost to the entity, as that is cash that could otherwise be utilized for transactions or as a cash buffer, while a shorter collection period lowers opportunity cost. To perform this analysis, the financial executive would use marginal or incremental analysis, and possibly sensitivity analysis. 21 / 52

For example, suppose Metchosin Metal Fabricators Ltd. (MMFL) currently offers credit terms of net 45 but is considering changing to 2/10 net 30 to be more competitive. The change is expected to increase annual sales from $1,500,000 to $1,650,000. Cost of goods sold (COGS) will remain at 55% of sales. Currently, all customers pay at 45 days, and there are no bad debt losses. The new terms are expected to result in 70% of customers taking advantage of the discount, 1.5% of credit sales as bad debts and the balance of the customers paying at 30 days. MMFL s bank will lend it money at a rate of 12%. Should MMFL switch to the new policy? Increase in net revenue: ($1,650,000 $1,500,000)(1 0.55) $67,500 Decrease in receipts due to customers taking discount: 0.70 $1,650,000 0.02 (23,100) Increase in bad debts: 0.015 $1,650,000 (24,750) Opportunity cost: Average accounts receivable: Old: (1,500,000)(45 365) $184,932 New: (1,650,000)(0.70 10 + 0.30 30) 365 (72,329) Decrease in accounts receivable investment $112,603 Decrease in investment cost 12% 13,512 Net benefit $33,162 Accounts payable and accruals are essentially interest-free, short-term loans, unless they are not paid on time. Management of accounts payable involves managing the credit terms of purchases. The decision to take or not to take a discount offered involves comparing the cost of forgoing the discount versus the cost of borrowing money to pay in time to get the discount. The annualized cost of forgoing the discount is: where Keffective = [1 (1 d)] 365 / n 1 d = percentage discount offered for early payment n = number of days between the two payment dates For example, if Guardians Ltd. offers terms of 2/10 net 30 to Bruce Enterprises, whose cost of borrowing is 12%, the cost of not taking the discount would be 44.6%: Keffective = [1 (1 0.02)] 365 / 20 1 = 0.445853 or 44.6% This is significantly more than the 12% cost of borrowing Bruce Enterprises would incur, so Bruce Enterprises should take the discount. Accounts receivable and accounts payable are mirror images of each other, so the principles for managing them are similar you want to take advantage of discounts offered to you and pay on the last possible date to maximize this free form of financing. 22 / 52

Inventory management generally consists of holding sufficient inventory to meet sales orders without holding excess inventory, thereby increasing firm value. Four factors are used to determine how much inventory to hold: 1. The cost of restocking inventory 2. The rate of demand for the product 3. The cost of holding a unit of inventory (carrying costs) 4. The degree of uncertainty about future demand for the product Managing accounts receivable and inventory may cause conflicts between marketing, production and finance. Marketing will want large inventories to fulfil any sale that arises and generous credit terms for customers. Finance will want to minimize both accounts receivable and inventory to free up funds for more profitable investments. Production will want to maximize capacity, which could lead to higher inventory levels. Proper financial management will aim at finding the balance among these various goals, after having performed the required financial analysis. Cash conversion cycle The cash conversion cycle looks at how long it takes to turn accounts receivable and inventory into cash, taking into account how long accounts payable remain outstanding. Cash conversion cycle = (Inventory turnover period + Accounts receivable turnover period) Accounts payable turnover period where Inventory turnover period = Average inventory 365 COGS Accounts receivable turnover period = Average accounts receivable 365 Net credit sales Accounts payable turnover period = Average accounts payable 365 COGS + Expenses Note that, to be part of the accounts payable turnover, the expenses should have cash implications. For example, depreciation expense would not be included because it is a noncash expense. Financial planning and forecasting One of the most important pieces of financial planning is cash flow prediction to ensure the firm can meet its financial obligations. 23 / 52

Cash flow projections involve the following: estimating cash inflows (for example, sales payments, increases in borrowings or in share capital, interest received and proceeds from disposition of assets) estimating cash outflows (for example, accounts payable payments, capital expenditures and loan/interest/tax/dividend payments) Once the cash flow projection is complete, the financial executive must be aware of the cyclical patterns in the various working capital accounts to plan for a source of funds when there is a cash shortfall, and to plan for investments when there is excess cash. There are three general approaches to this: The extremely conservative approach uses sufficient long-term financing to cover the largest possible current asset requirement. The aggressive approach uses sufficient long-term financing to cover the minimum possible current asset requirement (the permanent NWC). The moderately conservative approach uses a compromise that has enough long-term financing to cover a portion of current assets. Practice questions 1. Multiple-choice questions: i. The following comparative information pertains to ButterBuns Inc. for the year ending December 31, 20X9: 20X9 20X8 Cash $ 215,782 $ 189,888 Accounts receivable 153,813 147,653 Inventory 67,543 78,653 Prepaid expenses 12,500 10,000 Accounts payable 123,766 135,678 Taxes payable 25,345 24,777 Sales 1,350,000 1,200,000 Cost of goods sold 742,500 660,000 Total expenses* 558,613 557,571 *Includes depreciation of $35,901 in 20X8 and 20X9 If ButterBuns has cash sales of 10% of total sales and the balance is on credit, what is its cash conversion cycle for 20X9? a) 39.3 b) 43.8 c) 44.8 d) 51.2 24 / 52

Solution Option b) is correct. Inventory turnover period: [($67,543 + $78,653) / 2] / $742,500 365 35.9 Accounts receivable turnover period: [($153,813 + $147,653) / 2] / [($1,350,000) (1 0.10)] 365 45.3 Accounts payable turnover period: [($123,766 + $135,678) / 2] / ($742,500 + $558,613 $35,901) 365 (37.4) Cash conversion cycle 43.8 Option a) is incorrect. You forgot to take out the cash sales when calculating accounts receivable turnover the accounts receivable turnover period uses net credit sales. Option c) is incorrect. You forgot to subtract the depreciation expense in the accounts payable turnover calculation. Option d) is incorrect. You used 20X8 numbers rather than 20X9 numbers in the denominator. ii. Kwong s Electronics supplier of cables changed its credit policy from net 30 days to 1/10 net 35. What is the cost to Kwong s Electronics of forgoing the new discount? a) 11.1% b) 13.0% c) 15.8% d) 20.1% Solution Option c) is correct. [1 (1 0.01)] 365 / (35 10) 1 = 15.8% Option a) is incorrect. You used the new net number of days as denominator of the exponent. Option b) is incorrect. You used the old net number of days as denominator of the exponent. Option d) is incorrect. You used the old number of days less the discount period as denominator of the exponent. 25 / 52

2. XYZ Inc. is considering changing its credit policy from the current 2/10 net 30 to 2.5/15 net 40. Accounts receivable are currently collected on average every 35 days, with 25% of credit customers taking advantage of the discount. Under the new policy, the collection period will change to 46 days, with only 20% of credit customers taking the discount. Bad debts will increase from 3% to 4.5% of credit sales. The following accounts will see additional changes: Current Proposed Credit sales $8,820,000 $9,261,000 Contribution margin 3,447,500 4,704,000 Required: Assuming that XYZ uses a 12% rate of return on working capital, what is the net benefit to XYZ if the new terms are implemented? Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation To determine whether the new credit policy would be a benefit to XYZ, calculate and sum the individual incremental impacts to net income. CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues Increased contribution margin $1,256,500 Increased bad debt: Current: $8,820,000 3% = $ 264,600 Proposed: $9,261,000 4.5% = 416,745 (152,145) Increased cash discount: Current: $8,820,000 25% 2% = $ 44,100 Proposed: $9,261,000 20% 2.5% = 46,305 (2,205) Increased accounts receivable investment: Current: $8,820,000 (35 365) = $ 845,753 Proposed: $9,261,000 (46 365) = 1,167,140 (321,387) 12% (38,566) Net benefit $1,063,584 CPA Way step: Conclude and Advise There is a net benefit of appropriately $1.06 million. Based on a purely quantitative analysis, XYZ should implement the new policy. 26 / 52

PART 4 The capital budgeting process This part focuses on capital budgeting, which involves deciding how to allocate funds for potential new capital assets. As part of the role of corporate finance, capital budgeting examines which long-term investments the firm should make. Capital budgeting involves deciding how to allocate funds for potential capital expenditures such as property, plant and equipment. From the accountant s point of view, the process involves the following: 1. Estimating the project s cash flows 2. Determining the risk profile of the project and assigning a discount rate based on that risk profile 3. Calculating the net present value of the project or applying an alternative method of analysis 4. Assessing whether the project should be undertaken, based on both the numerical analysis and other qualitative factors The net present value (NPV) method is the conceptually superior method because it directly measures the increase or decrease in the firm s value if a project is accepted, and considers risk through the discount rate used. If a project has the same risk profile as the firm, then the firm s WACC is used as the discount rate. Firms will classify each project as independent, mutually exclusive or interdependent. Independent projects are unrelated, which means that accepting one project does not influence the decision to accept or reject any other project. Mutually exclusive projects are projects where accepting one means the other is automatically rejected, such as building a plant in one location or another. Interdependent projects are projects in which accepting one project requires accepting another related project. For example, upgrading equipment may also require upgrading the facilities to accept the new equipment. Capital rationing Most of the time, a firm will have restrictions on the amount of money available for projects. This is called capital rationing. In the case of capital rationing, a firm should accept the combination of projects that fits within its budgetary constraints and has the highest total NPV. For example, suppose Kaylee s Klosets Inc. has $65,000 available for capital investment. Given the following information, what is the best combination of independent projects to invest in? 27 / 52

Project Initial outlay NPV A $ 40,000 $(10,000) B 20,000 10,000 C 50,000 46,000 Total $110,000 $ 46,000 The projects cannot be partially undertaken. There are a number of options available to Kaylee s Klosets: Combination Total initial outlay Total NPV A $40,000 $(10,000) B 20,000 10,000 C 50,000 46,000 A and B 60,000 This is an exhaustive list of all the possible combinations of projects that can be undertaken. Other combinations are not possible because the initial outlay exceeds the budget available. Next, by reviewing the total NPV of the various combinations, you can determine that the best option is to undertake Project C only. An exhaustive list is not always practical if the list of potential projects is long. Using the Kaylee s Klosets example, though, notice that you can immediately eliminate Project A because it has a negative NPV, leaving Projects B and C. Since you do not have funds for both, you should undertake the one that maximizes the company s value Project C with an NPV of $46,000. Estimating a project s cash flows In a capital budgeting analysis, all relevant cash flows must be considered. The rules to follow for identifying and determining relevant cash flows are as follows: Use actual cash flows, not accounting income. Use incremental cash flows (that is, only those cash flows that relate directly to undertaking or forgoing the project). Include opportunity costs, but exclude sunk costs. Use after-tax cash flows. Use nominal cash flows (that is, include inflation). Ignore financing costs (the correct discount rate covers this). 28 / 52

For example, Victoria Ltd. is considering a new project with a five-year life. It will involve an initial investment of $7,000,000 in a new building and of $3,000,000 in new equipment. Victoria believes there will also be an increased investment in NWC from $2,500,000 to $3,000,000. The salvage value of the equipment at the end of the five-year term is expected to be 10% of the purchase price, and the building is expected to be worth 60% of the original cost. Both the building and the equipment will be depreciated on a straight-line basis. An initial analysis prepared last month by an engineering consultant, which cost $50,000, indicates that the project is feasible. Revenues from this project are expected to be $8,000,000 per year. COGS will be 60% of revenue. Victoria s marginal tax rate is 33%. The relevant cash flows are as follows: 1. Initial investments (one-time cash outflows) Building $(7,000,000) Equipment (3,000,000) Increase in NWC ($3,000,000 $2,500,000) (500,000) Note that it is the increase in NWC that is relevant, as it is the incremental cost of the project. 2. Salvage (one-time cash recoveries) Building ($7,000,000 0.60) $ 4,200,000 Equipment ($3,000,000 0.10) 300,000 NWC recovered 500,000 Because this is a short-term (five-year) project, all investments are assumed to be recovered or sold at the end of the term when calculating the NPV of a project. 3. Revenues and COGS per year (recurring cash flows) Revenues $ 8,000,000 COGS ($8,000,000 0.60) (4,800,000) Contribution margin $ 3,200,000 Tax @ 33% 1,056,000 Increased cash flows per year $ 2,144,000 The feasibility study cost is not relevant. It is a sunk cost that occurred whether the project goes ahead or not. You can see from the above that you have calculated three different types of cash flows: initial one-time cash outflows, one-time cash recoveries at the end of the project, and recurring cash flows over the life of the project. This is the first step when setting up an NPV analysis. 29 / 52

Capital cost allowance When purchasing capital assets, the tax effects are not immediate because they only apply to revenues less expenses, and accounting depreciation cannot be used in tax calculations. Instead, capital assets have a special depreciation for tax purposes called the capital cost allowance (CCA), which is used to calculate the tax effects. Firms can deduct from their income any amount of CCA, from 0% to the maximum CCA rate available for the class of assets involved. For example, assets in Class 1 have a maximum rate of 4%, so a firm could deduct no CCA in a given year or any amount up to 4%. In the year of acquisition, firms can apply only one-half of the maximum CCA rate to the net acquisition amount. When performing capital budgeting, the amount of tax that is shielded over the life of the project is calculated using a formula that assumes the CCA will be taken on the asset forever. This, of course, is not true, so when the project is over, another formula is used to calculate the amount of tax shield that is lost by disposing of the asset. Present value of the CCA tax shield = Cdt 1 + (0.5r) d + r 1 + r Present value of the CCA tax shield lost = Sdt 1 d r (1 r) n where C = acquisition cost of the asset S = estimated salvage value of the asset d = prescribed CCA rate t = firm s tax rate r = appropriate discount rate n = year in which the asset is sold Practice questions 1. Multiple-choice questions: i. Jones and Sons is considering a new capital project. Which of the following is a relevant cost in evaluating whether or not to undertake the project? a) A market survey, completed two months ago, assessing the profitability of the project b) A feasibility study of the engineering requirements for the equipment needed c) The change in depreciation expense that will flow from purchasing the equipment d) A decrease in the amount of NWC required Solution Option d) is correct. Any changes in NWC are relevant costs to consider when evaluating a project. 30 / 52

Option a) is incorrect. A market survey undertaken to assess the profitability of a project is a sunk cost and therefore is not relevant. Option b) is incorrect. A feasibility study of the engineering requirements is a sunk cost and therefore is not relevant. Option c) is incorrect. A change in depreciation expense does not affect cash flows and therefore is not relevant. ii. Peter s Playground Equipment Ltd. is looking at purchasing a new machine. The cost of the machine is $100,000. The machine has a useful life of six years. At the end of six years, the salvage value will be $4,000. Peter s Playground Equipment will use straightline depreciation for accounting purposes and Class 8 at 20% for CCA. The firm s tax rate is 35% and its cost of capital is 15%. What is the present value of the CCA tax shield that Peter s Playground Equipment will experience if it purchases the new machine? a) $346 b) $16,000 c) $18,350 d) $18,696 Solution Option d) is correct. The calculation is: Cdt d + r 1 + (0.5r) = 1 + r (100,000) (0.20)(0.35) 0.20 + 0.15 1 + (0.5 0.15) 1 + 0.15 = $18,696 Option a) is incorrect. This is the present value of the CCA tax shield lost. Option b) is incorrect. This is the straight-line depreciation, not the CCA tax shield. Option c) is incorrect. This is the present value of the CCA tax shield less the tax shield lost. 2. Shelbourne Manufacturing is considering the introduction of a new product. This will require the purchase of a machine at a cost of $2,500,000. This machine has an estimated economic life of eight years, at the end of which its salvage value is estimated to be $250,000. Based on these estimates, for accounting purposes, the machine will be depreciated on a straight-line basis at a rate of $281,250 per year. There is sufficient floor space to install and operate the new machine within Shelbourne s existing production facility. Common (overhead) costs for the facility are allocated based on how much floor space is used. On this basis, the new product will be allocated $150,000 per year to cover its share of the common facility costs. This floor space is currently unused. Manufacture of the new product will also require an investment in additional NWC of $350,000. 31 / 52

The financial executive has estimated that the contribution margin (before tax) from the new product for accounting purposes will be $400,000 for the first year of production. She then estimates that this figure will rise to $700,000 in each of the remaining seven years of the project s life as the advantages of the product gain recognition in the marketplace. Shelbourne s tax rate is 37%, its WACC is 12.5%, and the applicable CCA rate for the new machine is 15%. Assume the project life is the same as the economic life of the new machine. Required: Identify all cash flows relevant to a capital budgeting analysis of the proposed purchase of the new machine. Include the present value of the CCA tax shield and the tax shield lost in your answer, if relevant. Solution CPA Way step: Assess the Situation An objective survey of the problem indicates that Shelbourne is trying to decide whether or not a new product investment is a good idea. In assessing the situation, the first step is to determine what cash flows are relevant to making the decision. CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issues You create a list of the relevant costs as follows: Initial investments: New machine (2,500,000) Increase in net working capital (350,000) CCA tax shield: 2,500,000 0.15 0.37 0.15 + 0.125 1.0625 1.125 476,515 Tax shield lost: 250,000 0.15 0.37 0.15 + 0.125 1 1.125 8 (19,664) Salvage: Machine at the end of Year 8 250,000 Net working capital at the end of Year 8 350,000 Increased net revenue: Year 1 (1 0.37) ($400,000) = 252,000 Years 2-8 (1 0.37) ($700,000) = 441,000 Note: Depreciation expense is an accounting concept; the $281,250 is therefore not a relevant cash flow. Since the floor space is unused, the allocation of overhead ($150,000) is also irrelevant. The company will not be paying more by using the space. 32 / 52