The Mortgage Stream. TSX.V: INP May 7, 2018

Similar documents
INPUT CAPITAL CORP. ANNOUNCES RECORD CANOLA SALES IN FY2018 Q1 RESULTS

INPUT CAPITAL CORP. ANNOUNCES FY2017 Q3 RESULTS AND REPORTS RAPID MARKET ACCEPTANCE OF MARKETING STREAMS

Streaming Canola across Western Canada. TSX.V: INP August 2018

A Fully Funded Growth Story. TSX.V: INP February 2018

A Fully Funded Growth Story. TSX.V: INP December 2017

Corporate Presentation TSX.V: INP

Consolidated Financial Statements

A Fully Funded Growth Story TSX.V: INP

Investor Presentation. January 2017 TSX.V: INP

Crop Marketing 101. Prairie Oat Growers Association Annual meeting Banff, Alberta December 4, 2014

Contracts & Managing Risk

Third Quarter Ended December 31, Management s Discussion and Analysis 1 INPUT CAPITAL CORP 2014 THIRD QUARTER REPORT

MANAGING THE RISK CAPTURING THE OPPORTUNITY IN CROP FARMING. Michael Boehlje and Brent Gloy Center for Commercial Agriculture Purdue University

To Invest Or Not To Invest

Conterra Ag Capital. Providing industry leading agricultural loan servicing and wholesale lending to lending partners nationwide

Case Study #1: Mixed Farm Operation - The Kattel Farm

factors that affect marketing

2009 Investment Loan Program. Reference Guide. value choice ADVISOR INFORMATION ONLY

HEDGING WITH FUTURES AND BASIS

A TAX INCENTIVE FOR CERTIFIED SEED: A BROADER ASSESSMENT

EXCEPTIONAL SALES: SALAM AND ISTISNA'

Welcome to a brief discussion of cash flow. Cash flow refers to a summary or a plan of cash income and expenses. You can choose whether it focuses on

Village Farms International, Inc. Consolidated Financial Statements Years Ended December 31, 2016 and 2015

Gary A. Hachfeld, David B. Bau, & C. Robert Holcomb, Extension Educators

Second Quarter Ended September 30, Management s Discussion and Analysis 1 INPUT CAPITAL 2014 SECOND QUARTER REPORT

Farming Joint Ventures. Craig Macfie, CPA, CA, PAg

Viterra Inc. Other Recent News Printer Friendly Version

Financing DESCOs : A framework of financing working capital for Distributed Energy Services Companies. Chris Aidun and Dirk Muench March 2015

FEDERAL FARM CREDIT BANKS CONSOLIDATED SYSTEMWIDE BONDS AND DISCOUNT NOTES

Village Farms International, Inc. Consolidated Financial Statements Years Ended December 31, 2017 and 2016

E X P A N D I N G O U R G R O W T H P L A T F O R M JULY 2015

MONEY AND CREDIT VERY SHORT ANSWER TYPE QUESTIONS [1 MARK]

FRUIT FARM BUSINESS SUMMARY LAKE ONTARIO REGION NEW YORK October 2009 E.B Gerald B. White Alison M. DeMarree James Neyhard

FRUIT FARM BUSINESS SUMMARY LAKE ONTARIO REGION NEW YORK October 2007 E.B Gerald B. White Alison M. DeMarree James Neyhard

INSIGHTS REPORT VOLUME 06 WHAT S INSIDE. Understand the hidden costs that come with equipment, labor and family living expenses

Callidus Capital Corporation Investor Presentation

Village Farms International, Inc.

BUSINESS TOOLS. How Lending Decisions Are Made. How the Five Cs of Credit are used

Financial Planning and Cash Flow Budgeting for 2006

Proactive Strategies for Long- Term Solvency

2018 Harvested Production Report (HPR) and Online Instructions

Investment Loan Program Product Brochure. For advisor information only

Understand Financial Statements and Identify Sources of Farm Financial Risk

Managing Machinery Expenses

Loan Portfolio Analysis. Agribusiness Finance LESE 306 Fall 2009

FINANCIAL HIGHLIGHTS ($ thousands except per share and percentage amounts)

Engineering Economics and Financial Accounting

Bank Capital Relief. October 2018

2008 STATE FFA FARM BUSINESS MANAGEMENT CONTEST

Investment Analysis and Project Assessment

Center for Commercial Agriculture

Module 12. Alternative Yield and Price Risk Management Tools for Wheat

UK Grain Marketing Series January 19, Todd D. Davis Assistant Extension Professor. Economics

1998 Income Management for Crop Farmers

Time and Agricultural Production Processes

Unaudited Condensed Interim Consolidated. Financial Statements

Farmers have significantly increased their debt levels

Executive Women in Agriculture

Rural and Agriculture Loan Planning and Risk Analysis. Day 6: Cash Flow and Loan Planning and Loan Risk Analysis

Purdue Agricultural Economics Report

Condensed Interim Consolidated Financial Statements

Whole-Farm Reports. Farm Income Statement

Current Income Tax Issues for Agriculture

Village Farms International, Inc. Consolidated Financial Statements Years Ended December 31, 2015 and 2014

Step Up Your Grain Game! Crop Economics for 2018

Balance Sheet and Schedules

How cash flow planning can. benefit your business

Rural Financial Intermediaries

WHY WE AREN T LIKELY TO SEE A REPLAY OF THE 1980s FARM CRISIS

E Distribution: GENERAL RESOURCE, FINANCIAL AND BUDGETARY MATTERS. Agenda item 6 FORWARD PURCHASE FACILITY. For approval

Vertex Resource Group Ltd.

Innovative Hedging and Financial Services: Using Price Protection to Enhance the Availability of Agricultural Credit

Guaranteed Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates (Residential Mortgage Loans) Principal and Interest payable on the 25th day of each month

Introduction January 10, 2019

Capturing the Upside & Buffering The Downside Webinar November 30, 2015

The Sources, Benefits and Risks of Leverage

Welcome again to our Farm Management and Finance educational series. Borrowing money is something that is a necessary aspect of running a farm or

Testimony of. Matthew H. Williams AMERICAN BANKERS ASSOCIATION. Subcommittee on Department Operations, Oversight, and Credit.

Farmers Aren t Immune to Interest Rate Risk: A Duration Gap Analysis of Farm Balance Sheets

Rural and Agricultural Financial Products and Services. Module 7

The Minimum Price Contract

Fintech List Camino Financial Climb Credit SoFi Blend Labs Even

Commercial Real. Estate. CMBS Conduit. Loan. Program. Retail Medical Office Industrial Warehouse Hotel Apartment Mixed-Use Self-Storage

Land Affordability Calculator Walkthrough Guide

Monday, June 19, 2017 Ag Law Rooms: Ag Lien Update: Loan Workout Concerns and Lender Liability Issues in Today s Ag Economy 3:15 p.m.

Consolidated Financial Statements

Chapter 15 Real Estate Financing: Practice

b) (3 pts.) Based on this Balance Sheet, what is the Current Ratio on 12/31/2010? CR = current assets/current liabilities = 320,000 / 200,000 = 1.

FAST Tools Planning Beyond Paul Ellinger and Travis Farley Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics University of Illinois

Nurturing Agricultural Businesses ESLC Conference, November 2014 Stephen McHenry, Executive Director

INSIGHTS FROM AGRICULTURAL LENDERS. January 11 th, 2019 Top Farmer Conference Beck Agricultural Center Dr. Brady Brewer

REPORT OF INDEPENDENT REGISTERED CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS. To the Board of Directors and Shareholders of Points International Ltd.

CALLIDUS CAPIT AL CORPORA TION 2016 ANNUAL REPORT 201TORP RELAUNNA6

After-tax APRPlus The APRPlus taking into account the effect of income taxes.

Stressed Accounts: Are we in or are we out with this Borrower?

AG GROWTH INTERNATIONAL INC. MANAGEMENT S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS Dated: March 14, 2019

MANAGEMENT S REPORT ON INTERNAL CONTROL OVER FINANCIAL REPORTING MANAGEMENT S RESPONSIBILITY FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 18MAR

Callidus Capital Corporation Investor Presentation

Canadian Pacifi c Management s Discussion and Analysis Third Quarter Report 2008

Know the customer: How well can we target the actual beneficiaries -- so there is no duplicative, unused or otherwise unnecessary intervention?

Transcription:

The Mortgage Stream TSX.V: INP May 7, 2018 1

Background Input Capital is an agriculture commodity streaming company with a focus on canola, the largest and most profitable crop in Canadian agriculture. Input has developed several flexible and competitive forms of financing which help western Canadian canola farmers solve working capital, mortgage finance and canola marketing challenges and improve the financial position of their farms. Launched Capital Streams as a solution for working capital issues faced by farmers. 2012 2017 2018 Rather than a loan at a rate of interest, a capital stream provides an upfront deposit against future contracted canola deliveries. Rather than paying interest, farmers are factoring future canola sales by selling future revenue at a discount to get cash today. The upfront payment is used as working capital. Security: Second mortgages, GSA, crop insurance assignment. Launched Marketing Streams to provide the opportunity for farmers to jointly market their canola through Input to access better pricing and delivery opportunities. Marketing streams feature a small upfront payment as a deposit against future canola deliveries. Input paid via a percentage of the final realized canola price like a top-line royalty on canola sales. Offers farmers access to Input s canola marketing size. Security: Varies depending on size of upfront payment - majority have only a crop insurance assignment to mitigate production / weather risk. Launched Mortgage Streams to provide a new type of mortgage financing to farmers. Very similar to a mortgage from a traditional lender, but includes valuable additional features. Each of these products share several key aspects: Capital is provided to the producer at contract signing and repaid with physical canola Security is primarily via mortgages and crop insurance assignments. 2

Farmland mortgage market is led by traditional lenders Today, the $31B is serviced by the chartered banks, federal government agencies (Farm Credit Canada) and credit unions. Mortgage market is at least 3x size of working capital market Input s Mortgage Stream breathes fresh and innovative mortgage features into a stodgy marketplace. Capital Streams with Input Capital can replace high-cost, rigid financing options of crop input suppliers with longer repayment terms than advance payment programs. $6 billion of debt in these two categories alone, which may also include private lending. Some of the bank, FCC and credit union debt is also working capital / input financing. Source: Statistics Canada 3

Farm debt continues to hit record levels Farm debt across the Prairies has increased 2.4x since 2000, reaching $43 billion in 2016. While current liabilities have increased by 2.5x, mortgage debt has grown at a faster pace of 2.8x. Mortgage market is at least 3x size of working capital market 1. Mortgage debt calculates the ratio of land value to total long-term assets and applies that relationship to total long-term debt. Source: Statistics Canada 4

Growth in mortgage debt driven by rising land values Land values have been increasing at a faster pace than mortgage debt. Land value has increased 4x since 2000 while mortgage debt has increased 2.8x. Farmland mortgage financing requirements are growing faster than financing requirements for other farm needs working capital & equipment. Land acquisitions and farm expansion becoming more capital intensive, while higher farm equity is made difficult to access by current lenders. Farm leverage has decreased from 20% in 2000 to 14% in 2016 due to rising land values 1. Mortgage debt calculates the ratio of land value to total long-term assets and applies that relationship to total long-term debt. Source: Statistics Canada 5

The mortgage stream opportunity Input has identified an opportunity to address a key market segment and participate in the primary building block of every producer s balance sheet: land mortgages. Overview A conventional mortgage product with payment in canola. Unique benefits for the producer. Built on a foundation of two well-understood documents that farmers have grown used to using for generations: mortgages and grain delivery contracts. Interest paid via canola delivery for term of contract, principal payable in cash, up to 80% LTV (OAC) on bare farmland secured in a first position. Strict underwriting model with flexibility on deal and term structures (interest-only option, amortization options, etc.) Benefits To Input: superior risk-return profile, consistent long-term returns, low cost of origination and reinvestment, first position land security, normalized deployment program. Opportunity to manage balance sheet and returns by margining via term debt tied to mortgages, or eventual securitization. To Producer: single annual payment paid in crop, on-farm pick up, 5-year guaranteed canola price, flexible payment timing that mitigates commodity price and crop marketing timing risk. 6

Mortgage Stream example Use Case Farmer-friendly mortgage streams enable Input to address farmers long-term financing needs. Allows a farmer to purchase land instead of renting, and do to so with confidence knowing that the interest rate and commodity price / delivery risk has been removed. Capital gains from farmland ownership have historically funded farmers retirements. Interest-only option not universally or widely available from other lenders. Mortgages from all other lenders cannot be serviced with canola and have rigid year-round payment schedules that drain working capital at inopportune times. Interest Only Mortgage Example: Term: five years Interest rate: 9% fixed (non-amortizing, interest only term) Servicing: interest is serviced by five annual deferred delivery contracts priced at $450 per MT (picked up on farm) signed at same time as mortgage Example: $100,000 principal * 9% = $9,000 annual interest payment / $450 per MT = 20 MT per year Input Capital takes on the canola price risk and picks up the canola on-farm At the end of the 5 year term, the mortgage is either renewed for another 5 years, refinanced with another lender or paid off. This is no different than any other mortgage in Canada. 7

Mortgage Stream Mechanics It is conceptually best to think of Input as one company with two distinct divisions: a mortgage division and a grain division. Mortgage Division 1. Input lends money against farmland & accrues interest monthly 3. Farmer directs grain division to pay canola proceeds to mortgage division to complete mortgage payment. Farmer Grain Division 2. Farmer sells canola to Input at guaranteed price 8

Fit Within Product Portfolio 9

Capital Streams v. Mortgage Streams The farmland mortgage transforms Input into a long-term capital provider to farmers that takes repayment in canola. Each kind of stream has its own value proposition. Mortgage streams open a large new playing field for capital deployment. Features Capital Stream Mortgage Stream Mortgage Stream Advantage Amortization and Annual Volumes Sales process Capital deployment Canola prices Security Securitization / Leverage 5 years Farmers are generally not familiar with canola streaming and the associated benefits Average size of capital stream = ~$150K Full contract repayable in canola = more volatility Secured by subordinated farmland mortgages Streaming is a relatively new concept to financial institutions Longer amortization (10-25 years) + interest-only option Mortgages and grain delivery contracts are standard documentation currently used by every farmer Average deal size of mortgage stream = ~$700K Only interest payable in canola = less volatility; Principal payments in cash only First position farmland mortgages up to 80% LTV Easily understood by financial institutions = potential for leverage to increase ROE Market size Targets working capital market Targets farmland financing Lower annual volume required to service a mortgage stream makes it suitable to finance long-life assets Shorter selling cycle Cost effective deployment Higher closing rate Demand may be less seasonal More opportunities for chunkier deployment Less canola price risk increases earnings predictability, reduces IFRS accounting noise in income statement First lien security Financial institutions have more experience with mortgages therefore easier to finance with them Farmland mortgage market is ~3x larger than working capital market 1 1. Source: Statistics Canada, management estimates. 10

Mortgage Streams v. Traditional Mortgages The Mortgage Stream is the ideal land financing tool. This new and innovative financing option includes features not offered by traditional mortgage lenders. These features make the Mortgage Stream an ideal tool for a farmer to finance land. The Mortgage Stream looks and feels like a conventional mortgage product, with additional key benefits for the producer. Two standard documents: standard mortgage and standard grain delivery contracts. Principal payable in cash, interest backed by standard deferred delivery contracts for term of contract up to 80% LTV on bare farmland secured in a first position. Quantifiable Benefits Interest-only five-year term option Guaranteed canola price Trucking and logistics Up to 80% LTV Single annual payment No cash crisis due to delivery and payment deadlines No cross collateralizing Other marketing opportunities Notes Interest-only rates are not common, even more so with a 5-year term. Grain delivery contracts lock in canola prices for 5 years. Not offered by anyone else. Includes trucking cost and time savings of having Input haul and market your canola. Free up land to secure lower cost input financing compared to using expensive trade credit. One payment per year, after harvest, at a time of high liquidity. Spend your springtime cash on inputs, not interest. Time your crop sales when opportunity knocks rather than being forced to sell crop to pay bills to avoid losing access to revolving credit for next year. Input will only secure against bare farmland and will not cross collateralize against other assets. Membership has its privileges be the first to hear about frequent marketing opportunities. 11

The value proposition: paying with canola is convenient Buy inputs Traditional Mortgage Make mortgage payments several times a year prior to receiving any revenue; a drain on working capital. Mortgage Stream No mortgage payments until harvest puts farmer in a better working capital position. Grow crop Seed, spray, grow crop. Seed, spray, grow crop. Harvest Harvest crop. Grain Marketing Transport to yard / bin: if crop is big, pile the crop on the ground. Manage crop in bin: rotate / manage moisture. Facing year-end bills and mortgage payments, struggle to find good prices and/or delivery opportunities local elevator may be full, or the trains may be frozen up. When delivery opportunity is available, spend all day delivering one or maybe two truck loads sit in line at the elevator for several hours with your own truck running. Also, wear and tear on your own truck. Get paid. Deposit cheque to bank. Once the bank removes its hold, write a cheque to pay mortgage payments and other bills. Harvest crop. Transport to yard / bin. Manage crop in bin: rotate / manage moisture. Input picks up the canola from the bin and your mortgage is paid. (Upsell: Use an Input Capital marketing stream to enhance your canola program and eliminate trucking and marketing hassles on more of your canola production.) 12

Farm Economics: Mortgage example Farm operation with: 3,000 total acres = 1,000 ac canola; 1,000 ac wheat; 1,000 acres peas (typical crop rotation) Average canola yield of 35 bu/acre = total canola production of 800 MT per year $500,000 mortgage stream Canola volume required to service the mortgage (at 9% interest and a $450/MT price guarantee), is 100 MT per year. This is 12.5% of total canola production and equal to 4.4 bu/acre on all canola acres. This equates to: Total cost of financing $500,000 = $15.00/acre across the entire 3,000 acre farm: Finances the land Helps manage cash flow prior to harvest spend money on inputs, not interest Provides canola price protection for term of mortgage Reduces the farmer s time and costs associated with trucking 100 MT 13

Attractive Return Profile 14

Positive Impact on Input Mortgage streams have a positive impact on Input s financial results Rapid, more cost-effective capital deployment Longer amortization assets significantly reduce annual roll-over costs all new deployment is more impactful Better security position pathway to security enforcement is simpler due to simpler, industry standard documentation Fewer tonnes to truck per dollar of capital deployed reduces trucking expenses and logistics management Input s canola merchandising program is more financially impactful on fewer tonnes to manage Ability to apply leverage due to standard farmer-friendly documentation enables Input to grow a significantly larger book of business with today s equity. Higher returns by optimizing capital structure while remaining conservatively financed. Debt is attached directly to mortgages. Mortgage streams drive bottom line earnings - rising ROE, BV & earnings Simpler accounting: Less revenue seasonality due to monthly interest accruals Fewer revenue recognition oddities such as are created by cash settlement of capital stream tonnes 90% reduction in Mark-to-Market noise in income statement 15

Assumptions used in charts & data that follow Mortgage Stream LTV: 72% of land value (maximum Input LTV is 80%) Mortgage leverage: Input borrows up to 90% of face value of Mortgage Stream Input cost of borrowing: Modelled at 4.50% p.a. 5-yr guaranteed canola price: $450/MT Trucking cost: $12.50/MT The calculated returns are gross contract returns, net of financing costs, and do not include commissions or G&A expenses. Note that all assumptions made are for illustrative purposes only each mortgage will have unique variables 16

Mortgage Stream Pre-Tax ROE Pre-tax ROE In the base case (9% mortgage interest rate, $450 per MT canola price), Mortgage Streams produce an unlevered ROE of 8.8% and a levered ROE (at maximum 90% leverage on 72% LTV) of 47.0%. ROEs are lower but remain strong in lower leverage scenarios. Pre-Tax ROE Sensitivity - Leverage v. INP Rate with a market price of $450 Leverage Ratio INP Int Rate 47.00% 5% 6% 7% 8% 9% 10% 0% 4.9% 5.8% 6.8% 7.8% 8.8% 9.7% 50% 5.2% 7.2% 9.1% 11.1% 13.0% 14.9% 65% 5.5% 8.3% 11.1% 13.9% 16.6% 19.4% 80% 6.3% 11.2% 16.0% 20.9% 25.8% 30.6% 90% 8.1% 17.8% 27.6% 37.3% 47.0% 56.7% Unlevered, Mortgage Streams produce positive returns in all canola price scenarios. Pre-Tax ROE Sensitivity - Leverage v. Market Price of Canola with a 9% Rate Market Price/MT Leverage Ratio 47.00% $ 250 $ 300 $ 350 $ 400 $ 450 $ 500 $ 550 $ 600 0% 4.8% 5.8% 6.8% 7.8% 8.8% 9.8% 10.8% 11.8% 50% 5.0% 7.0% 9.0% 11.0% 13.0% 15.0% 17.0% 19.0% 65% 5.2% 8.1% 10.9% 13.8% 16.6% 19.5% 22.4% 25.2% 80% 5.8% 10.8% 15.8% 20.8% 25.8% 30.8% 35.8% 40.8% 90% 7.0% 17.0% 27.0% 37.0% 47.0% 57.0% 67.0% 77.0% 17

Understanding the Mortgage Stream base case ROE Pre-tax ROE In the base case (9% mortgage interest rate, $450 per MT canola price), Mortgage Streams produce an unlevered ROE of 8.8% and a levered ROE (at maximum 90% leverage on 72% LTV) of 47.0%. Pre-Tax ROE: Leverage & Market Price of Canola 77.0% 67.0% 57.0% 47.0% 37.0% 27.0% 19.0% 17.0% 17.0% 15.0% 13.0% 11.0% 9.0% 7.0% 7.0% 5.0% 4.8% 5.8% 6.8% 7.8% 8.8% 9.8% 10.8% 11.8% $250 $300 $350 $400 $450 $500 $550 $600 Canola Selling Price 0% 50% 90% 18

Mortgage Stream ROE Sensitivity Pre-tax, at 90% leverage, in the 9% mortgage interest rate base case, every $50 per MT of canola sale price results in 10% change in ROE and a 1% interest rate change results in similar 10% change in ROE. After-tax deltas are smaller. Pre-Tax ROE Sensitivity - INP Rate v. Market Price of Canola with 90% Leverage Market Price/MT 47.00% $ 250.00 $ 300.00 $ 350.00 $ 400.00 $ 450.00 $ 500.00 $ 550.00 $ 600.00 5% -14.1% -8.6% -3.0% 2.6% 8.1% 13.7% 19.2% 24.8% 6% -8.8% -2.2% 4.5% 11.2% 17.8% 24.5% 31.2% 37.8% Mortgage 7% -3.6% 4.2% 12.0% 19.8% 27.6% 35.3% 43.1% 50.9% Interest 8% 1.7% 10.6% 19.5% 28.4% 37.3% 46.2% 55.1% 63.9% Rate 9% 7.0% 17.0% 27.0% 37.0% 47.0% 57.0% 67.0% 77.0% 10% 12.3% 23.4% 34.5% 45.6% 56.7% 67.8% 78.9% 90.1% After-Tax ROE Sensitivity - INP Rate v. Market Price of Canola with 90% Leverage Market Price/MT 34.55% $ 250.00 $ 300.00 $ 350.00 $ 400.00 $ 450.00 $ 500.00 $ 550.00 $ 600.00 5% -10.4% -6.3% -2.2% 1.9% 6.0% 10.0% 14.1% 18.2% 6% -6.5% -1.6% 3.3% 8.2% 13.1% 18.0% 22.9% 27.8% Mortgage 7% -2.6% 3.1% 8.8% 14.5% 20.3% 26.0% 31.7% 37.4% Interest 8% 1.3% 7.8% 14.3% 20.9% 27.4% 33.9% 40.5% 47.0% Rate 9% 5.1% 12.5% 19.8% 27.2% 34.5% 41.9% 49.2% 56.6% 10% 9.0% 17.2% 25.4% 33.5% 41.7% 49.9% 58.0% 66.2% 19

Term debt interest rate and leverage At lower levels of leverage, pre-tax ROE has ~3.75x more response to 5% change in leverage than a 0.25% change in term debt rates. ROE rises with leverage when term debt interest rate remains fixed. Pre-Tax ROE Sensitivity - Leverage v. Term Debt Rate with a 9% Interest Rate at $450/MT Term Debt Rate 47% 3.75% 4.00% 4.25% 4.50% 4.75% 5.00% 5.25% 5.50% 0% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 8.8% 50% 13.8% 13.5% 13.3% 13.0% 12.8% 12.5% 12.3% 12.0% Leverage 65% 18.0% 17.6% 17.1% 16.6% 16.2% 15.7% 15.3% 14.8% Ratio 80% 28.8% 27.8% 26.8% 25.8% 24.8% 23.8% 22.8% 21.8% 90% 53.8% 51.5% 49.3% 47.0% 44.8% 42.5% 40.3% 38.0% After-Tax ROE Sensitivity - Leverage v. Term Debt Rate with a 9% Rate at $450/MT Term Debt Rate 34.55% 3.75% 4.00% 4.25% 4.50% 4.75% 5.00% 5.25% 5.50% 0% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 6.4% 50% 10.1% 9.9% 9.7% 9.6% 9.4% 9.2% 9.0% 8.8% Leverage 65% 13.3% 12.9% 12.6% 12.2% 11.9% 11.6% 11.2% 10.9% Ratio 80% 21.1% 20.4% 19.7% 18.9% 18.2% 17.5% 16.7% 16.0% 90% 39.5% 37.9% 36.2% 34.5% 32.9% 31.2% 29.6% 27.9% 20

Return sensitivity to term debt interest rate and leverage Pre-tax ROE In the base case (9% interest rate, $450 per MT canola price, 4.50% cost of term debt), Mortgage Streams have a pre-tax ROE of 13.0% at 50% leverage, rising to 47.0% at 90% leverage. As leverage increases, sensitivity to interest rates rises. Pre-Tax ROE: Leverage & Term Debt Rate 53.8% 51.5% 49.3% 47.0% 44.8% 42.5% 40.3% 38.0% 13.8% 13.5% 13.3% 13.0% 12.8% 12.5% 12.3% 12.0% 3.75% 4.00% 4.25% 4.50% 4.75% 5.00% 5.25% 5.50% Cost of Term Debt 50% 90% 21

Optimizing leverage: finding the sweet spot Input estimates term debt financing is available for Mortgage Streams up to 90% leverage to a maximum of 65% LTS on the underlying land security. Most mortgage streams are expected to be 50%-80% LTV. Input LTV sweet spot is 72% of land value; in this scenario Input could write $10M of Mortgage Streams with $1M of equity. Any LTV beyond 72% would be funded with Input s equity; at 80% LTV Input s puts up $1.9M. Funding Allocation Based on Input LTV $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.10 $1.22 $1.33 $1.45 $1.56 $1.67 $1.77 $1.88 $9.00 $9.00 $9.00 $8.90 $8.78 $8.67 $8.55 $8.44 $8.33 $8.23 $8.13 70% 71% 72% 73% 74% 75% 76% 77% 78% 79% 80% Debt Equity 22

Mortgage Stream Implementation Plan Phase Detail Timeline Pilot project Build mortgage inventory Initial funding Long-term funding Securitization Pilot originating mortgage streams with farmers Continue originating mortgage streams with farmers to build mortgage inventory and the canola streaming book Get funding facilities in place which allow Input to margin mortgages with low cost capital Continue to develop more funding relationships and lower costs of capital for mortgage stream funding Once there is enough inventory for a securitization, reload the balance sheet and repeat Complete Ongoing This is where we are focused now 3-12 months Future Potential 23

Summary The Mortgage Stream enables Input to address farmers longer term financing needs with an innovative farmer-friendly mortgage product that addresses farmer needs. The Mortgage Stream is a simple product for a farmer to understand: Farmer receives an upfront payment upon entering a 5 year contract, Farmer pays an annual interest payment in canola using a grain delivery contract, and At maturity, the farmer fulfills the final delivery contract and pays back the principal or renews for another 5 year term. Mortgage Streams significantly increase portfolio stability while decreasing Input s cost of deployment. Higher returns to Input through improved capital structure while remaining conservatively financed term debt is tied directly to mortgages. As more farmers come to see the mortgage stream as a good alternative to mortgage financing from traditional lenders, Input has an opportunity to exponentially grow its portfolio in a conservative and stable manner. Securitization and/or asset-specific financing makes mortgage streams the highest return product in Input s product suite. Simpler accounting helps more investors understand the business more easily. Input should screen better for algorithm-based investors/traders. 24

Glossary Interest Rate / Mortgage Interest Rate: The annual interest rate charged by Input on a mortgage stream. Leverage / Leverage Ratio: The proportion of the mortgage which is funded by a bank. For example, if Input does a $100,000 mortgage stream with a farmer and the bank lends Input $80,000 against that mortgage, Input refers to this as 80% leverage. Loan-to-Security (LTS): The amount borrowed by Input from the bank divided by the value of the farmland underlying a mortgage stream. For example, if Input does a $100,000 mortgage at 80% LTV, then the farmland securing the mortgage is worth $125,000. If a bank loans Input $80,000 against that mortgage, then the bank s LTS is $80,000 / $125,000 = 64% of the value of the underlying assets securing the mortgage. Loan-to-Value (LTV): The face value of the mortgage divided by the value of the farmland being mortgaged. For example, if the farmland is worth $1 million, and Input does a $700,000 mortgage stream on the property, the LTV is 70%. The maximum LTV Input will consider is 80%. Margin Ratio: Similar to leverage above the proportion of the mortgage which is funded by the bank. When Input refers to 80% leverage, this is another way of expressing its ability to margin a mortgage at 80% of its original principal amount. Mortgage Loan-to-Value (LTV): See Loan-to-Value (LTV) above. Mortgage Margin Facility: The borrowing facilities currently being negotiated by Input. These mortgage margin facilities will provide the ability for Input to margin its mortgages, thereby reducing the amount of equity Input has in the mortgage. When Input originates a $100,000 mortgage stream, it will be able to take that mortgage to the bank and borrow against it, or margin it. See also Term Debt, below. Mortgage Stream: A conventional mortgage on farmland which accrues interest monthly, but is paid annually via the delivery of a fixed amount of physical canola to Input. Term Debt: A term used interchangeably with Mortgage Margin Facility to describe the borrowing facilities Input is currently arranging with two banks. 25

Contact Information Doug Emsley President, CEO & Chairman (306) 347-1024 doug@inputcapital.com Brad Farquhar Executive VP, CFO & Director (306) 347-7202 brad@inputcapital.com 26